“The best color in the whole world is the one that looks best on you” Coco Chanel

coco-chanelCoco was right!  Color is so deeply personal.  The very first thing I ask a client is, what is your favorite color?  Believe it or not that one piece of information tells me a great deal.  In most cases what you love to wear is often the color you love to live around.  Unfortunately, most people don’t understand that little rule.  So often people decorate and select color based on practicality instead of intuition.  My desire is to get people thinking about color!  So ask yourself, what’s my favorite color?  Then go look around your home and see if they match.   It should be interesting what you discover.

bookcase-sorted-by-colorThe colors in your home narrate a story about you.  The objects in your home  chronicle where you have been and what you cherish.  It is your personal,  sacred museum a gallery filled with color and treasures!

3572470053_abeae892be What is your favorite color?

20 Comments

Filed under Color, Interior Design

20 responses to ““The best color in the whole world is the one that looks best on you” Coco Chanel

  1. Teal

    Teal, duuuhhhh.

  2. My favorite color is green. I have a dark green chair in my living room and the rest of the furniture is tan. The tile floor is tan and the walls are white. The dining table chairs are green. The bedspread on my bed is blue, yellow, and green. My sheets are green. But I tend to wear more brown that green!

    • Ahhhh green! Its such a foundational color and so easy to live around. Its actually considered to be a neutral. No ever gets tired of green!
      My very first apartment had emerald green walls with chocolate brown furniture! The combination of the two colors felt so richly comfortable.
      I’m not surprised you wear brown, one it probably looks great with your hair and skin tone (oops my early days as a fashion/makeup artist just slipped out) and brown tends to make us feel grounded and comfortable. So what you’re saying is …you’re a Tree….HeHe! I love trees!
      Thank you for sharing Claire!

  3. My favorite colors are all shades of blue. I’m a Pisces who loves water and blue skies, so it makes sense. I am a very optimistic, happy, funny (I hope) person but ironically I think I look best in black. Anyway I love what you are doing over here and I will stop back often! Any advice you’d like to give on my own photographic attempts is welcome! I put up a few every Wednesday, and it’s a lot of fun.

    • Hey Scott, thanks for stopping by. I’ve enjoyed your comments on FJ’s (my brother’s) blog!
      As a Pisces who lives around water and being of male gender, you say what a lot of men say, “My favorite color is blue” . Most men, when thinking in terms of color usually respond by reflecting on what they wear. Women tend to think of their home environment first, the only exception to that rule might be if they work in fashion industry. In regard to black, its actually a neutral, so you probably look fab wearing it!
      FJ the man of many talents and scholarly degrees was formally trained and schooled in photography.
      He really does know what he is doing. He needs blow the dust off his portfolio and share. I’ll talk to him about it. Timm Eubanks, is an amazing photographer. So they would have some really great things to offer in regard to photography as well.
      I’ll start checking out your regular Wed. postings.
      Its nice meeting all of FJ’s friends!

  4. prescott allen hazeltine

    My favorites aren’t found in the primaries, or the secondaries…’

    Start into the tertiaries, and you are approaching my land…

    • “Tertiary” I remember hearing that word in Art school and thought it was such a cool word! So artsy and snazzy! You and I both live in the monochromatic world of neutrals with select intense color.
      If I’m correct, it was all that fabulous art work and your millions of books that gave your home all its flavor!!! Do you remember Marcia’s intense Orange wall in her Houston home? I remember those very cool nude drawings she hung on that intense color…I loved that punch when you walked into her home. When I think of orange…I think of you and Marcia . Is that weird ?

      • prescott allen hazeltine

        Ah, yes…

        Primaries: Red, Yellow, Blue…

        Secondaries: Combination of any two primaries: Orange, Green, Purple…

        Tertiaries: Combination of a secondary and a primary: red orange, orange yellow, chartreuse, aquamarine, indigo, and red violet…

        I tend toward an all neutral pallet, with the tertiaries as accents, here and there…

        So you scored a bingo with me…

        You are also on target with Marcia. Her main color was orange, her accents were yellow orange (tertiary), khaki (a mixture of two secondaries – green and orange, and in her case, more orange, because it was a warm khaki), and a cool gray (basically a mixture of any two complimentary colors in the correct canceling proportions, although her’s definitely contained orange 2/8’s and blue 6/8’s, because beside the orange, her gray went cool bluish gray… Right there you can see that her pallet was really all centered around orange, and it’s compliment blue…

        She had even painted the ceilings a pale sky blue (blue being the compliment of orange), so when it was placed in the orange room, the ceilings appeared pure cool white, instead of painting the ceilings white, which, in picking up the reflections of the orange walls, would make it appear ivory instead of white…

        Yet again you see the complimentary colors working together: blue and orange…

        Sophisticated, yes. But in the correct proportions, an absolutely stunning interior… Which is why it had been featured in a Houston magazine as to how to do “Orange” in a private home…

        Also, because the orange and blue are compliments, when used in the correct proportions, they make a total neutral, gray. Why did her are look so good on orange walls? Ultimately the brain stopped perceiving orange as being overwhelming, because of the blue balance, leaving the true colors to be perceived in the art itself… The same exact principal galleries use with their neutral walls allowing the art to shine…

        Very technical, and unfortunately I tend to get very long winded and obtuse explaining things (it’s so very clear in my head, but only after years of classes, reading and observations, but translating what I automatically see is obviously a challenge for me), but with your knowledge of color (which is so much a natural part of you), I hope you are able to follow all of my circuitous blather…

        Marcia’s color pallet was really quite tight, balanced and well thought out… Theory wise, it was not at all that “out” there… She was just a color expert, and new how to use it properly…

        You have that exact same talent and ability.

        Remember your peach and periwinkle room? Say it with me: Compliments orange and blue…

        lol

      • Prescott, there was nothing puzzling or nonsensical about your comment at all ! I rather enjoy your bursts of understanding! And most importantly they are educational! You add so much because of your vast knowledge in the area of Art and Design! Trust me, I appreciate all your input! Thanks!

        And yes, I do remember the periwinkle walls and peach/coral accents! By the way, Periwinkle is still my favorite color!

  5. Can I say, that’s a tough question? When asked, and I am sure this comes up in conversations often for everyone, I find myself saying I love all colors…depends on how the whole package looks.
    But when buying for home, I’ve found myself gravitating to the earthy tones. Dark brown wood, olive green plaid chair, a mustard yellow velveteen chair, a leather love seat and so on. I would love to include whites, but hubby is a practical man :)

    Although I try to include most colors in my wardrobe…I have recently realized I have similar colors there too!

    • Bingo Juicer! The mustard yellow chair validated your obvious creative talent! I see some Van Gogh in you….HeHe

      • Oh..the little Van Gogh in me lusts after mustard fields and vales of daffodils :)

        “I wandered lonely as a cloud,
        That floats on high over vales and hills,
        When all at once I saw a crowd;
        A host of golden daffodils…”

        P.S. Lovely comment by Prescott, I am at enlightened and surprised at how the simplicities of science underlie creativity. We might create art w/o thinking or even consciously applying science, but in the end, it seems, whatever clicks with the human observer actually works because it works around the basic scientific principles. Because science is the medium we use for any understanding. Is that over-stretching it, or do you think we have something here?

  6. prescott allen hazeltine

    Thank you Juicer…

    I totally agree with you, but I might approach it a bit differently, like from another direction…

    I think science merely uncovers what has always been there… Do we apply science to our creativity, or does science merely end up giving us a vocabulary to explain some of we artist types try to accomplish?

    I think it is the later. And furthermore, it happens whether you recognize that scientific vocabulary or not… If the principals/truths are there, artists use them, regardless of their ability to explain the process in words…

    I have just worked long and hard to verbalize things, since that has never really been a forte of mine…

    But, looking back over what you have so eloquently explained in much fewer words than I, I think we see this quite alike…

    My very best to you, Juicer…

  7. Prescott…Perhaps, in my attempt to be brief, I did not convey my point fully:)

    I agree with you on the latter point you made. Science gives us the vocabulary for art, helps us with an explanation. And it uncovers what has already been there. That’s what we know as of now.

    But what if, we haven’t yet uncovered everything about art, how it’s created, initiated. How does it take form in our heads?

    I was actually angling towards a different point, a more broader one, where people tend to see science and art as two separate, unrelated fields. I was wondering if the two are really, unconditionally related.

    There probably is a perfect science to all art, even though the artist or the viewer might not be aware of it. Maybe art and science are just two variables of a bigger, more basic science we haven’t yet uncovered. Maybe when we do demystify more about how the brain really works, we will know how art is created in our mind, in the first place:)
    Then again, I don’t know a dime. I am just hypothesizing. And I am afraid…also ranting! ;)

  8. prescott allen hazeltine

    Juicer, I think your observations and thoughts are not only thought provoking, but timely as well… And quite to the contrary, you do more than a dime… Quite a bit more…

    Bear with me here… Here’s where I get wordy and possibly obtuse as I try to communicate what is on my mind here…

    For me, art takes place when I have an emotional reaction to something… Note that that is only me, I don’t know what motivates others, but I suspect it is, at the very least, some type of positive response, or need, to discover, relate and communicate… From there, I then try to figure out how I can actually do that: discover, relate, and communicate… That is when a piece of art starts to take form in my mind…

    That said, one of the definitions of science is the “systematic knowledge of the physical or material world gained through observation and experimentation.”

    I think that people who are artistically/creatively oriented, tend to be very keen observers. They are oriented towards their sensory perception, regardless of the sense in question… Whether this is conscious, or subconscious is, I believe, irrelevant to this particular discussion. Because of this sensory sensitivity, they will (and do) perceive things very deeply… Just for clarification, I’m not in any way suggesting other types of people can’t or don’t this, I’m just limiting my discussion here to artistic/creative types.

    These art types will see what is there in actuality. How colors interact (previously discussed), light (comes forward, think highlights) and dark (recedes, think shadows), on and on… I think the scientific analysis comes when those with that bent try to understand what has already been done by the artist types (or what they may have observed themselves)… The artists, who have been doing it all along, may come along and then use this vocabulary to try and explain, in retrospect, what they have already done…

    But it doesn’t matter if science has or hasn’t revealed the how’s of artistic accomplishment, because artists have already observed it all, and are replicating what they have observed… I think that science and art are related, completely, just two different minds (artistic vs. scientific) trying to explain the same thing in their own languages… The artist needs only his/her artistic medium to do so, the scientist, only his/her quantifiable experiments… But if we go back to the original definition I mentioned in the beginning, I think both are doing the exact same thing: systematic knowledge of the physical or material world gained through observation and experimentation.

    What artist doesn’t observe, and experiment to produce a copy of his/her own observations?

    Same language, but different expressions to my mind. The artist uses the visual to reproduce those observations, the scientist, usually the word… But both seek the univeral laws of the universe, which are already there, and operational…

    I think your observations about the two being unconditionally related are right on target.

    Would that we had more artistic scientists, or scientific artists… Take your pick…

    I also think that there actually is no real separation between art, music, literature, science, whatever… I think those are artificial boundaries placed by us humans, who somehow have this need to organize, quantify and limit things into so called “manageable” pieces (think of trying to imagine the infinite universe, and not breaking it down to galaxies, solar systems, stars, planets, etc.). I see it all as just parts of an indivisible whole, which in separating, we somehow loose part of all the whole, part of the beauty, mystery and wonder… It’s in using all of those languages that more of that true beauty, mystery and wonder gets communicated to all…

    When we all get to the place where brain function is expanded to the point where all of the gray matter is used in a conscious fashion, maybe then infinity won’t be so incomprehensible, thereby laying open the universe around us to complete and total sensory awareness… I won’t get there in this life, but as Van Gogh says “For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.”

    Thank you for this wonderful discussion… It has caused me to think, and brought me places I wouldn’t have gone myself… I am very grateful, Juicer…

  9. Prescott..love how you present your thoughts: in the raw form, I would like to call it.
    I enjoyed this discussion immensely too, lots of food for thought you have here, and I am contemplating this with so much enthusiasm. Will take my time to chew. And maybe come back to you later:)
    Thank you for indulging in this conversation!

  10. Oh, and can I request you to hop over to my blog. A good tool for us to get to share some more! Can’t wait to engage in more conversations with you:)
    (Ah, no, I am not pimping my work! :D Would not ask everyone…hmm)

Leave a Reply

